Flying

Posted: July 12, 2010 by graysutanto in Uncategorized

It still amazes me, how sin deceives.

It tells us we could be good enough for God.
That we don’t need the cross of Christ.

When I’m at my best, It stirs up my pride.
It tells me I’m pretty good at what I do.
That I could be self-sufficient in some way.

When I’m at my worst, it sneaks in by either giving me a false sense of humility
or it will make me believe that I’m at my best.
It is appalling how we love to be deceived.

It pulls on me like gravity, then convicts me as if I was supposed to be able to fly.

Sin is a phone call away. A click away. A heartbeat a way.
And it takes us there. It is our nature.

And I am a great sinner.
Whatever righteous works I can ever muster up for myself, I would happily fling it all away for the righteousness of Christ.

I have no hope in this body of death. There is no hope in religion.
Dream on. We will never be able to reach God.
Religion is a waste of time, and primarily prideful self-deceit.
Self-sufficient prideful hypocrites.

Why can’t we see that? Let’s take ourselves back to the law.
And we’ll see that we fall short of even our own moral standards.
We let ourselves down. We let others down. And we’d think we won’t let God down?
To think we could ever reach up to God’s standards is nothing but a sinful delusion.
We are never so in need of repentance than when we think we have repented enough.

Indeed, sin had gripped us the most tightly when we cannot see it in ourselves.

It’s all about the Cross. Christ died to save sinners.
And you and I, we’re all as good as dead without His atonement.

Comments
  1. Lori says:

    Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

  2. Man, I still love this blog theme, every time I come back I want to switch mine. 🙂

    Great post. Reminds me so much of Baxter’s work on Pride or Owen work on sin and temptation. Good stuff and so very accurate! You’ve described me to a tee, in describing yourself!
    -paul

Leave a Reply

